Choose a language: English Français Portugues


Aug 28, 2013

Sixth ACP Fish II Programme Steering Committee meeting in Nassau , The Bahamas, under the auspices of the Caribbean Community and Common Market (CARICOM).

ACP Fish II  Steering Committee (SC) provides direction and validates the overall policy and program. In all, eight regional economic organizations (REOs) are the SC permanent members: the Caribbean Community (CARICOM),the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), Southern African Development Community (SADC), the Common Market for Eastern and  Southern Africa (COMESA), West African Economic and Monetary Union (WAEMU), the Economic Monetary Community of Central African States (CEMAC), Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS), and finally and finally the Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat (PIFS)

The Control role and inputs provided by the SC is one very important pillar of the demand-lead approach and representation by all concerned regional bodies. Holding SC meetings under a decentralised approach, in ACP countries or regions where Regional Economic Organisations and Permanent Members of the SC have their Headquarters, should assure the commitment of the regional organisations in the Programme implementation and coordination. The ACP Secretariat, the European Commission strongly supported and endorsed that approach by the Programme as a way of facilitating beneficiary and stakeholder involvement. The choice of The Bahamas to hold this meeting will allow a greater ownership by all permanent members of the SC and to decentralize decision-making process of the programme. The process began with the third Steering Committee held in Gaborone (Botswana) hosted by the Southern African Development Community (SADC) and continued with the forth meeting held in Libreville (Gabon) and hosted by (ECCAS).